Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated Faves

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic and this week’s topic is: Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While

I kind of feel like I talk about my faves all the time, so I’ll just give a list of some that I think are underrated.

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen – This is my FAVORITE Sarah Dessen book. Macy is a really normal protagonist and Wes is basically the best. Definitely my fave Dessen love interest. This book makes me want to work for a catering company.

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund – This is a futuristic retelling of Persuasion by Jane Austen. I love the underlying story, but the world that the author created is amazing.

What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick – This is such a summer book. I love all of the characters (especially the old lady…I can’t remember her name). I might even like this one better than My Life Next Door.

This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E Smith – Everyone always talks about The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight and while that book is awesome, I like this one even more. Another summer book, and the two main characters just feel so right together…

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson – I love that each chapter features one of the things that Emily is going to do from Sloane’s list. It kind of gives the book this driving force. I love the way that Matson develops Emily as a character throughout.

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson – Oh boy, bring the tissues. The thing I love about this book is the way Matson portrays the family. They just seem so real! I also love the real way that she portrays Taylor’s friendships. They’re imperfect and take some work.

The Comeback Season by Jennifer E Smith – Baseball is the most beautiful sport and Smith gets that. This book deals with some heavy topics in a really great way, but the thing that ties it all together is baseball. I love the respect that Smith shows for the game.

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin – Okay, I know. I talk about this book ALL THE TIME. I seriously love it. So much.

Kissing in America by Margo Rabb – This book was so unexpected! It doesn’t end the way you think it’s going to, but the ending is still SO PERFECT.

The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord – This was the first book that I read from Emery Lord and I am converted. I love, love, LOVE the group of girls in this book. Such a great group of friends! Everything that I wish I had in high school and even now, I wish I had a group of friends like that.