2015 End of the Year Book Survey

2015-end-of-year-book-survey-1024x984

Happy New Year everyone! This is a survey/questionnaire created by Jamie @The Perpetual Page-Turner.

reading-stats-2015-1024x278

Number Of Books You Read: 178
Number of Re-Reads: 9
Genre You Read The Most From: YA

best-ya-books-2014

1. Best Book You Read In 2015?

This is a tie. I loved both of these books for very different reasons. Wolf by Wolf was great because of the driving plot and the writing while Second Chance Summer really got me thinking about families and feeling some pretty intense feels.

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?
51X-zyaZMRL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

This book sounded so promising, but in the end, I thought it was such a dud. There was another book that I thought I’d really like but didn’t *cough*Red Queen*cough*. But Dorothy Must Die really pulls ahead because I have literally no desire to read any more in this series. Whereas with the other book, I probably will.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read? 8cfb66e81f5fdad540530e2f430c5dad

I was so ready to love this book. Every review that I had seen was so positive (and even still, everyone loves this book). I was surprised at how much I disliked it! Anna was just okay for me as a protagonist. I didn’t like Etienne or his relationship with Anna and I didn’t particularly care for the writing. I just did not like this book.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

wolf-by-wolf-ryan-graudin-e1442880525579I have been telling EVERYBODY to read this book. I received an ARC of this from The NOVL and absolutely LOVED it! It totally lived up to all of my expectations and the writing was beautiful. I’ve already had my husband and my brother-in-law read it and they both really liked it even though we all have pretty different reading preferences.

 5. Best series you started in 2015? Best Sequel of 2015? Best Series Ender of 2015?cinder

Best series definitely has to go to the Lunar Chronicles. Why did I wait so long to read these??? I can remember looking at them before, reading the summary, and then deciding not to read them for some convoluted reason. What was I even thinking??? These books are SO GOOD. Best sequel goes to The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E Pearson. And best series ender definitely has to be Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2015?

My love for Morgan Matson knows no bounds. I have been blown away by the three books that she has out and I just want MORE. I haven’t had a chance to read any by her alter-ego, Katie Finn, but I plan on it!

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

MissPPeculiarChildrenThis book seriously creeped me out when I first saw it. The old photographs are so eerie to me and I wasn’t sure if I’d like it or just be really scared the whole time or what. I ended up really liking this book even though the covers and pictures kind of scared me. It definitely helped me to become more comfortable experimenting with borderline “horror” or gothic type books.

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?9781599951492_p0_v2_s260x420

This book was one of the few nonfiction books that I read this year. There’s so much going on here and it’s seriously so amazing to me that all of this really happened! These men were real and they saved some of the world’s most precious works of art and architecture. Just really an amazing story.

 9. Book You Read In 2015 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

austenland-bookConfession: When I read it this year, it was already a re-read. I don’t know what exactly it is about this book, but I love it. I could read it a billion more times and never tire of it.The movie is also one of my favorites and I was very pleased to get it for Christmas! So just imagine me reading this book and then watching the movie 20+ times next year.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2015?17234658

So beautiful. The textures and the colors and the buildings…I feel like I could stare at this cover for hours. It’s just so pretty! I thought the story itself was pretty good, but honestly, I need to own this book just for the pretty cover.

11. Most memorable character of 2015?

Iko from the Lunar Chronicles. Anyone who’s read the Lunar Chronicles knows what I’m talking about. Am I right or am I right?

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2015?

18143977Pulitzer Prize winner right here. I thought the writing was so beautiful and it really elevated the entire story to a new level for me. Even though this is a work of fiction, this time period and this topic are both so difficult to write about. I feel like the fact that the writing was so beautiful added a layer of respect to the time period and the people who actually had to live through it.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2015?9780552565974_custom-b8367e7a41f7c527051b3b8024b7924b3e0a113c-s99-c85

This book was definitely thought-provoking. I read it for one of my Library Science classes and it’s definitely one that I would want my kids to read someday. It really made me think about how we often unfairly judge other people just based on appearance. We need to do a better job of getting to know people, not faces.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2015 to finally read? 

cinderYes, I know I already said this. But every time I think about it, I’m still so astounded that it took me so long to pick up these books! I love fairy tale retellings, so this one really is right up my alley. I literally have no idea what kept me from reading these books before. I have no excuses. I’m just glad that I finally did gives these fantastic books a chance. At least this way I didn’t have very long to wait for Winter.

15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2015?

“‘You’re alive, Bod. That means you have infinite potential. You can do anything, make anything, dream anything. If you can change the world, the world will change. Potential. Once you’re dead, it’s gone. Over. You’ve made what you’ve made, dreamed your dream, written your name. You may be buried here, you may even walk. But that potential is finished.'”

– From The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2015?22749539

Longest book was Echo by Pam Muñoz Ryan. I read it for class and it was a whopping 592 pages. It’s middle grade though, so the text was a little larger and there were definitely fewer words per page than books I typically read. It was a fast read for almost 600 pages.

The shortest book I read this year was The Importance of Being Earnest by Oscar Wilde. It’s a play, but I’m still counting it. It comes in at 76 pages.

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

20419044I don’t really know what I expected from this book. The premise was interesting, but what I ended up reading really was not what I had envisioned I would be reading. Prospective readers beware, this book is gory and violent. I was a little shocked at how much. I wouldn’t say all of that is just for shock value however. There is a point to it. But still.

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)FANGIRL_CoverDec2012

(OTP = one true pairing if you aren’t familiar)

Levi and Cath forever! If Rainbow Rowell could right a book about their wedding next, that would be great. I also want to give a shout-out to Wren and her boyfriend Alejandro. Wren was kind of a mess, but Jandro hung in there. I admire him for his ability to do that.

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year
51GdayQh-uL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

Kitty and everyone. I just love Kitty so much. I love her attitude and how she interacts with basically everybody in the book. She’s funny and spirited and definitely thinks she’s older than she really is. I’ve said this before, but I would love to have a little sister like Kitty. Maybe in real life it would get old and annoying, but I don’t even care. She’s seriously the best character in these books.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2015 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

23009402

Please tell me you’re not shocked about this choice. If anyone is shocked, then they obviously haven’t spent any time on my blog really. Sarah Dessen is the GOAT in my opinion. This book was classic Dessen and I absolutely loved and devoured it. I’ve actually already read it twice this year if that tells you anything…

21. Best Book You Read In 2015 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

417cvxu0dulI was recommended this book by Deanna at A Novel Glimpse for my Popsugar challenge. I needed a memoir to read but didn’t really know of any good ones (not that there aren’t any good memoirs out there, there just weren’t any on my radar is what I mean). Anyway, this book was delightful! The author is fresh and literally laugh out loud funny. I wanted to read some parts to my husband but couldn’t even stop laughing long enough to do it.

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2015?

Captain Thorne from The Lunar Chronicles. Obviously Ms. Meyer did a fantastic job creating characters because I love ALL OF THEM.

23. Best 2015 debut you read?18190208

Okay, to be honest, I didn’t really read that many debuts so my selection was pretty limited. I don’t actually remember too much about this book…I read it a while ago, but I do remember really liking it and I think the sequel will be coming out in 2016.

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

A1bCf-Xhe4LThis was another re-read for me. But wow. The world that Ernest Cline has built really slaps you in the face right away. Not only that, but he actually built TWO worlds. The real one and the VR one. And not only that, but there were MULTIPLE OTHER worlds inside of the VR world. So I think Mr. Cline here definitely wins the most over-the-top and ingenious world building award.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?7664334

I loved this book so much. There was a hint of predictability to it, but enough variation to keep the reader interested. I loved having the receipts and playlists and travel journal entries included throughout the book. I also loved reading about a roadtrip across the United States. It really made me want to visit all of the attractions that Amy and Roger went to!

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2015?

cvr9781416990680_9781416990680_hrI didn’t just cry. I SOBBED. This book got me so hard. All the feels. Just all of them. Even thinking about it right now makes me tear up a little bit and I can tell that I’m slightly incoherent. This book was so emotionally draining/cathartic. Usually when something (a book or movie) takes that much emotion out of me, I’m good to never read/watch it for the rest of my life. Not the case with this one. I sobbed so hard, but I’m definitely up for reading it again sometime.

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?344637

I didn’t anticipate liking this book as much as I did. The story wasn’t necessarily a happy one, but the characters were fresh and relatable. Despite some potentially unrealistic elements, this book was fantastic and I thought everything about it seemed really real. Definitely recommend.

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

a_monster_callsThis book was unexpected in so many ways. The story was beautiful, the illustrations breathtaking and haunting. All of the monster’s stories were intriguing and a little bit soul-crushing when you really take the time to think about them. Then the ending of the book as a whole just made me feel broken inside. But not in a bad way, if that makes sense. It was like I had been broken and put back together but not exactly the right way. Maybe you’ll understand if you read it.

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2015?EE-200x300

Unique doesn’t really cover this book. It was so different from anything else I read this year. The character is so diverse with ethnicity and family situation and her illness. On top of that, the book itself has many unique chapters. The reader gets to see some of the main character’s homework assignments or book blog entries or notes left by her nurse. The story is told through normal narrative, but also IM conversations. It’s really very interesting and made it really hard to put the book down.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

21569527Okay, I really liked this book, but I felt really frustrated almost the entire time. The whole situation that the main characters are in felt really hopeless. I hate when things feel hopeless! It makes me want to stop reading because I can’t see how any of this could possible end well. So there’s all of that and then we get to the ending and we’re left with this HUGE cliffhanger. Not cool.book-blogging

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2015?

Everyone! Really, though, I’m not just saying that. I just started my blog in March of 2015 and I was so pleasantly surprised at the already existing bookish community.

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2015?

My review for In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters.

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

Discussing E-Readers

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

I really enjoyed participating in The Broke and Bookish’s  Secret Santa this year! It was fun to shop for another book lover and to think about what bookish things I might enjoy as well.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2015?

Any time I connect with other bloggers, it’s fun and exciting. I love having people comment with their opinions on my reviews–I know my opinion isn’t the only one in existence.

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

Sometimes I lose steam and have a hard time getting the motivation to blog. Sometimes I have a long list of ARCs to get to and reading begins to feel like a chore. Those things are really hard for me.

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

As far as views are concerned, my Favorite Quotes from Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen post is by far the most popular.

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

What makes a book “good”? discussion

9. Best bookish discovery (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

NetGalley

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

I surpassed my Goodreads challenge of reading 150 books this year and I got so close to finishing the Popsugar 2015 challenge! I’m definitely going to have to do better on that next year.

looking-ahead-books-2015

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2015 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2016?

Winter by Marissa Meyer. I got it for Christmas, so I’m definitely planning on reading it ASAP in 2016.

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2016 (non-debut)?

The Possibility of Now by Kim Culbertson. I’ve really enjoyed her other books and am very excited for this one!

3. 2016 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

These Vicious Masks by Tarun Shanker and Kelly Zekas. I mean, it’s described as Jane Austen meets X-Men so…it’s going to be epic.

4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2016?

Calamity by Brandon Sanderson. I just know, this is going to be one EPIC series end.

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2016?

Stop caring about stats! It’s not that I really care about them, but I get pretty preoccupied with checking them and wondering why this day was so low compared to another day. I’m writing for myself, but I can’t help but be disappointed when my views aren’t as high as I’d hoped. Note to self: STOP IT!

6. A 2016 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald. Comes out in English 1/19.