DISCUSSION: E-readers

I have always loved reading. I asked my mom to teach me to read when I was like three and she was surprised because she thought I might be too young. I would get in trouble ALL THE TIME for reading after I was supposed to have gone to bed. I had my library card number memorized and the librarians knew everyone in my family by name. Books and reading were a MAJOR part of me life. Silent reading time was the best part of the school day. I loved going to my local library, I loved discovering new books. I loved the feel of a book in my hands and being able to turn real pages and flip back to previous passages with ease. I scoffed at the idea of an e-reader. Literally, there was real scoffing involved. How can you read a book if you can’t flip back to check on something you’ve already read? What if you really wanted to study the cover? It’s just not the same as holding an actual book in your hands! Then I got to college.

All of the sudden, I didn’t have my books with me. I didn’t have a car to get to the public library and I had no idea where to find the “for fun” books in the campus library (and I was too afraid to ask–I know, what a loser, right?) My freshman year of college, I stopped reading. I did not read a single book for fun the whole year (and not because I was too busy with my studies…) Towards the end of my second semester, I looked into getting a Kindle.  It was fairly cheap (cheaper than I had expected at least) so I bought one for myself. That’s when I started reading again. It didn’t take long before I discovered that I could actually checkout ebooks from the library. What a revelation! My Kindle became my best friend. I named him Kinny and brought him everywhere with me. Now I could read at lunch or while I was waiting for class to start. I could read anywhere without having to use valuable backpack space on a bulky hardcover.

What I’ve learned is that of course nothing beats having the book in your hand, but at the same time, e-readers can also be pretty awesome. I can download and read a book instantly without having to plan a trip to the bookstore. The search feature is pretty handy when trying to remember or find a passage from earlier. You can have multiple books with you at one time in a convenient little package. And don’t even get me started on the Kindle Paperwhite’s backlight (BEST THING EVER). I’ve upgraded from Kinny to a Kindle Paperwhite. Ellie if anyone was wondering (because it has an L.E.D light and because of the song “Lights” by Ellie Goulding). I’ve only recently started to build my physical library up and utilize the physical public libraries around me, but I’d have to say that purchasing a Kindle was probably the best decision I’ve made regarding my reading and definitely a good investment in my book.

How do you feel about e-readers? Do you use one? If you do, how do you like it and what made you decide to get one?

37 thoughts on “DISCUSSION: E-readers

  1. You named your E-reader! πŸ™‚ I tend to use my phone as an E-reader just because it’s always with me anyway so I might aswell. I’ve followed, and would be honoured to hear your thoughts on some of my works on my blog (mainly short stories, a bit of poetry, and got a novel in the works). Keep blogging and have a good day πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I do not currently own one, but I have the ereader apps downloaded on my phone. I personally don’t really care for them, but I review books from Netgalley, and they only do E-Copies. I feel like it is much easier to keep track of where I am in the book if I have an actually book in my hand.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My story with reading is a lot like yours, love the feel of physical books but they quickly were becoming inconvenient. I was given a Kindle (second generation) for a birthday gift and fell in love with the convenience of ebooks. I eventually received a first generation Kindle Fire which I continued to love for reading, but I wanted more functionality from a tablet than the Fire offered. When I upgraded my phone at Christmas, I went with a deal which was a free LG G3 phone plus LG G8.3 tablet, both of which I absolutely love. Since I procure my ebooks via direct download, I added them to my Google Play Books cloud and use the app to read and sync across my devices. I absolutely love it, the app is continually improving and I love that I can use a single device to read my books, social media, etc. I am super happy with my devices =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s awesome! Yeah, I’ve had mixed feelings with the fact that I can only use my Kindle to read (as opposed to other tablets). I recently won an iPad mini at a work raffle, but haven’t made the switch. I like that the Kindle is easier to read outside (at least compared to the iPad) because I always take my lunch break outside. I could see myself wanting to switch to just one device in the future though.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Definitely suggest going to an electronics store, perhaps Fry’s if there is one locally, and go about testing all of the available devices. Keep in mind that different ebook apps will include different settings which will impact your experience. I typically run a black background with white text on my tablet, works well for me since I read mostly in the evening or late night and don’t want to throw off large amounts of light as the traditional black text white page does. Again, it will be all about research and finding what works for you.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I like having the physical book — I like collecting them and filling my shelves with books. However, I can’t take them with me and if I’m on vacation, I would pack more than 3 with me. That’s why I like having an e-reader. I have the Nook HD+ which is also a tablet but it’s a limited tablet. I like having all my books there at my convenience but I still prefer having the physical copy. I also have the kindle app on it so that I can buy books on kindle and read it on my Nook or on my phone.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I love mine. I think for avid readers they’re great just for the fact that you can access a ton of books easily and at a cheaper price–sometimes even free. I like regular books, too, but it’s just so much easier to tote around my Kindle with access to my entire library. If I finish one book while I’m waiting somewhere, I can start right on the next one.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I mostly read ebooks now. Not that I prefer ebooks. I actually love physical books more. It’s just more convenient for me, because I’m always out, and I’m impatient. When a book comes out, I want it immediately even if I’m not going to read it immediately. Also, some of the books I want to read are not available in my country as physical books. I love my kindle paperwhite. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I adore my nook. My first one was a Christmas gift from my mom because she wanted me to have less clutter with paper books and make carrying books easier. Plus my hands won’t ruin my nook. It is now my security blanket and lets me read in the dark so it’s my favorite!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I can’t live without my Kobo! Like honestly, I absolutely need it. I had it before I started to get into collecting physical books, and I don’t plan on stopping using it anytime soon! It’s so convenient; I take it with me basically everywhere, it’s not heavy or too thick. I especially love the built-in light! I use my Kobo often at night, when I’m in bed, and I can use the light to read, instead of having a flashlight or something. XD

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I was also a scoffer. Big time. But I definitely regret not getting one because I don’t like reading ARCs on my phone and because they’d be so much more helpful for longer trips. Love your story and I think it’s cute that you named your Kindle Kinny.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I agree that e-readers are so useful and fantastic, I love my Kindle. However never will they ever beat the feel of a real book. But e-readers are great for when you’re on the go. (Especially for me, when I head off to uni soon next year). Great post, loved the discussion! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’ve always been an ebook reader, right from childhood. Of course, I get that it doesn’t beat the feeling of having a real book in your hands, but over the years I’ve developed an unnatural bond with them. It’s a bit difficult to explain, but sometimes, I might even consider them closer to my heart than the physical books. Yeah, that’s just how much I’m attached to them…
    I guess I wouldn’t love them this much if I hadn’t been so dependent on them from such an early age. First off, I live in India, a place where many, many great books don’t manage to find a way. And some of them, even if they do get available, are so highly priced that it becomes very difficult to purchase them. So whenever I’m going for book-hauls, ebooks have always come faithfully to my aid, to the point that now even if you gave me an entire houseful of books, I’d still find it very insufficient if it didn’t have ebooks in its stock. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I’ve been an e-book reader for years. At age 12 I had to attend a boarding school away from home where I had to share a room with five other girls and our room wasn’t that really spacious so keeping a shelf full books was so out of the question. Now, I’m in college and I still have the same problem, the lack of space. The shelves I have now are rather crammed with my school books and papers (and there’s a lot of them). So now, my physical books are left at my dad’s house unattended *how sad*.
    Functionality-wise, an e-book reader is just way more convenient. I can take it everywhere which can basically mean I can read everywhere. Book hauling is pretty easy (and they don’t take up much physical space, yes!). Even late-night shopping of a book you want to read is not a problem. It’s just some clicks away (but you got to watch out on that one unless you want to be broke before you know it). Also, what I like about it is I can highlight, write notes, and use the built-in dictionary and bookmark without actually damaging the book. Actually, I’m an iPad user and I have the Kindle, Nook and (the always present) iBooks on it.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Oh, I loved seeing your reading story – I feel like it’s something quite a few of us can relate to, being so attached to physical books that we turn up our noses at e-readers. I’ve had to learn to drop my pretentiousness when it comes to e-readers, because come on, let’s face it – they’re actually pretty awesome, if not as aesthetically lovely as physical books. πŸ˜‰ Great for travel, great for small apartments, great for that one book you NEED TO READ RIGHT NOW OR ELSE THE WORLD WILL CAVE IN. It’s a win-win! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

