Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan [Audiobook]

Dash is perusing the bookshelves of one of his favorite bookstores when he finds a notebook. Inside, the notebook contains a set of instructions. As he follows the instructions, he begins to wonder about the girl who wrote them. He decides to join her in this game of dares. As the notebook travels between Dash and Lily, they both become more and more curious about the person on the other side of the pen. Is it friendship? Is it love? Or are they just two people who only get along when they’re writing to each other?

I thought the narrators for this book were AWESOME. I’d 7741325seriously listen to any other books that they’ve read and I wouldn’t even care what they were. Their voices were PERFECT for the characters. Dash was interesting and serious while Lily was sassy and fun. I think having the different narrators and having the book written by two authors really made each character’s voice stand out during their chapters. It was great. I liked that Dash was sarcastic. He had this really dry sense of humor that cracked me up. Lily was awesome too! I don’t know if it was the reader, but she sounded really confident in herself and I liked that. It’s not often where you get a lead female protagonist who just feels confident, you know? A lot of times they’re second guessing themselves and obsessing over their crush. Lily was very refreshing.

I’ll admit, there were some things that I had a hard time suspending my belief over. Like, how in the world to Dash and Lily have so many connections? Every time they pass the notebook back and forth I’m just like, “No way. How do they know someone who can do this for them?” That was really the only negative about this book though (that and a little too much language for my taste). As I said earlier, the two main characters were great and the secondary ones were awesome too. I loved Lily’s family. I thought they were so fun and friendly and obviously in love with Lily.

Overall, it was so much fun to listen to. I’m not sure how it reads, but if you can get the voices right in your head, I’m sure it’s great. Also, it was kind of fun reading about Christmas during a summer road trip!

Overall Rating: 4
Violence: Mild
Language: Moderate. Some strong language (mostly confined to Dash’s chapters with one exception).
Sexual Content: Mild
Smoking/Drinking: Moderate

7 thoughts on “Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan [Audiobook]

  1. I listened to the audiobook for this as well and I loved it. I love when an audiobook has perfect narration! If I don’t like the voices, I have a hard time listening to it and usually end up stopping it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t like this book but then again I didn’t listen to the audiobook. I probably would have liked it a lot more had I listened, especially if the narration was as perfect as you said. Perhaps I’ll try the audiobook instead.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

