Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Turn-offs

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic and this week’s topic is: Top Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly NOT Want To Read A Book

1) An ugly cover (because I’m superficial like that). Or even just…a cheap looking cover.

2) A vampire as the romantic lead. This guy is literally hundreds of years older than our main character? Creepy. Just creepy.

3) Bad reviews. Pretty self-explanatory.

4) A love triangle involving two brothers/cousins/whatever relation. There’s just no scenario where this is going to end well.

5) Science fiction. I like some science fiction, but for the most part I just get lost and confused.

6) The author. If there’s a certain author that I haven’t enjoyed in the past or I haven’t liked previous books in the series, then I probably won’t want to read any more from them.

7) An unlikable main character. If I don’t like the main character, I’m not going to like the book.

8) An immature main character. There have been times when a main character has made me roll my eyes repeatedly. Not an enjoyable experience.

9) An uninteresting plot. I’m very plot-driven as a reader so if I’m not interested in the plot, then I’m not going to pick up the book.

10) A ton of language or sexual content. I’m just not into that kind of thing.

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Bookish Turn-offs

  1. I definitely agree that an immature main character can ruin a book. The older I get, the more impatient I get with things like that. There are still many YA books that I absolutely love, but lately I’m beginning to think that I’m getting a little too old for them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m with you on the sexual content. I try to avoid when possible. Although I don’t mind swearing as much as I probably should! On the other hand, violence/gore in books/movies heavily affects my state of mind. It’s an ever shifting balance to try to find books with these parameters! Also covers, YES. if the cover looks bad… Dear publisher please do the author a favor and design a new one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Violence/gore really depends for me. There are some times when I can’t handle it, but then you have the Hunger Games or the later Harry Potter books and I have no problem. I guess it kind of depends on the context.

      Like

Leave a Reply

