The Perfect App for the Person Who Keeps Planning on Reading Classics but Never Actually Does

This is me. I am the person who has a list of classic books that I want to read eventually, but never do because when it comes down to it I have too many other, more current books to read instead. Classic books just always take me so long to read and it’s not like they’ll ever be unavailable to check out, right? That’s always my rationale at least. But then I discovered the most wonderful app called Serial Reader (this is not a sponsored ad, I just seriously love this app). So here’s how it works. You pick a book that you want to read and set a time to receive new issues every day. Then, once a day you’ll receive a manageable portion of the book to read. The app even tells you how long it will take for you to read it! Once you’re done with your issue, then you just have to wait until the next day to keep reading. Before you know it, you’ll have finished the whole book one manageable portion at a time!

Serial Reader 1

There’s a really wide variety of books to choose from and as far as I know, there isn’t a limit to how many you can read at one time. You can highlight and take notes and it will save all of those for you in the app. The app itself is free, but if you purchase the upgrade (I think it was either $1.99 or $2.99) then you can read ahead to future issues and use the handy dandy “Read Later” function. So far, I’ve finishedĀ Northanger Abbey and am currently readingĀ Wuthering Heights. On my “Read Later” list I haveĀ Jane Eyre, The Scarlet Letter, Frankenstein, The Haunted Hotel, The Woman in White,Ā andĀ The Mysteries of Udolpho. The only drawback that I’ve found so far is that the app only has the rights for books published before 1930. So books likeĀ 1984 andĀ Farenheit 451 aren’t on there.

I have my issues set for 7 AM, shortly after I wake up, so that I can read them at any point during the day. I’ve only tried reading one at a time at this point–more than that might be a little much for me–but it feels good to know that I’m knocking some classics off of my TBR without taking too much time away from the other books that I’m reading!

Has anyone else tried this app? What did you think? Let me know if you end up downloading it and what your first read is going to be! What are some of your other favorite reading apps?
10 thoughts on “The Perfect App for the Person Who Keeps Planning on Reading Classics but Never Actually Does

  1. I’m interested in trying the app, but I worry that it will be like YouVersion for me. I like the idea of serializing it, but I worry that I will stop reading.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

