Non-ARC Mini-Reviews (except for one)

The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily by David Levithan & Rachel Cohn [ARC]The Twelve Days of Dash and Lily
I really enjoyed the first Dash and Lily book. It was a perfect Christmas read with fun, quirky characters and a cute (if somewhat unbelievable) scavenger-type hunt throughout New York City. Twelve Days, while still good, was not quite as enjoyable as the original Dash and Lily in my opinion. I liked both Dash and Lily a lot from before, but they were both going through some stuff and were a little harder to like in this book–it gave the book a different tone I think. I also had a hard time remembering some of the things that happened and people from the first book. They mentioned a couple of people or events and I was just like, “What?”. Overall, I thought this was a cute follow-up to the original, but honestly Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares could have remained a stand-alone and I would have been fine. 4/5

Note: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Blackmail BoyfriendBlackmail Boyfriend by Chris Cannon
Mmkay…just looking at this title is ringing exactly zero bells. I had to look at the summary from Goodreads before I started remembering anything about this book. I think that gives some indication as to how I felt about it. Even though I can now remember parts of the plot, I can’t remember any specific problems that I had with it. I think it was probably just a general lack of originality plot-wise combined with weak writing. I remember there was some drama regarding Homecoming and someone spilled a soda at lunch…the main character also has two dogs that are named after cars…and she probably has some best friends who are equally as annoying as she is. Oh yes, I’m starting to remember that she has a best friend who bakes and is trying to get with the best friend of the blackmailed boyfriend (so proud of myself for remembering that detail). Overall, meh. This publisher keeps drawing me in with the cute covers and RomComish storylines, but I’m always disappointed. When will I learn? 2/5

City Love by Susane ColasantiCity Love
This book almost makes me wish I was just starting college again. ALMOST (because let’s face it, being done with school + being married is way better than living in a crappy apartment living paycheck to paycheck). But also, it makes me wish I’d gone to college in New York. And also that I’d known what Urban Planning was (I still don’t really). This book is narrated by three girls who are living together for the summer before they officially start school. They’ve all got pretty different personalities, but I didn’t really find myself particularly liking any of them. They each had something about them that was kind of annoying to me. Overall, I think this book is great for anyone who wants to fall in love with New York, but I thought it was pretty average with characters that weren’t immediately likable. 3/5

Audrey, Wait!Audrey, Wait! by Robin Benway
The thing about songs in books is that I always want to know what the song actually sounds like (I’m looking at you This Lullaby). Having the lyrics isn’t enough because I have no idea what the tune is. But anyway, I have historically enjoyed books where characters accidentally become famous. This book was just okay for me though. Audrey was okay and I liked that her parents were involved and present in her life (I feel like that’s often missing in books like this). I also liked the guy from the ice cream store, but I feel like I didn’t like her best friend that much though I can’t remember why. Overall, this book didn’t blow me away, but I thought it was fine. 3/5

Sorry for the lame reviews, but I seriously read all of these books months ago. I’m still working on getting caught up but I’m making progress slowly but surely!

4 thoughts on “Non-ARC Mini-Reviews (except for one)

  1. I actually really enjoyed Blackmail Boyfriend. But I was totally in the mood for a light, somewhat cheesy book. It helped me get out of my reading funk. I was tired of depressing drama and this was one of the lighter ones I read until I could handle more in depth stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

