Mini-Reviews: In Which I Review Some Average Books

The month of July was a struggle for me reading-wise. I was just so busy with schoolwork and such that I really didn’t have long stretches of time to dedicate to reading. That being said, I was also reading a string of average books that didn’t particularly make me want to read faster. Here are some of those books that I was reading.

The Walled CityThe Walled City by Ryan Graudin
This one had been on my list for a while and my husband had already read it and loved it. This book took me longer than expected to read and I think that’s because I didn’t really feel particularly connected to the characters. I loved the setting and the way that the streets and the Walled City itself is described, but the characters were a little lacking for me. I didn’t feel like they had all that much depth. I could sympathize with the characters, but towards the end of the book when the plot was most suspenseful I didn’t feel myself agonizing over whether or not the characters would make it (as I did during Winter by Marissa Meyers). One thing I did really like about this book is that it features Asian characters. In the end, I liked this book and I might even read it again someday, but it was no Wolf by Wolf.

Overall: 4
Language: Moderate
Violence: Heavy
Smoking/Drinking: Moderate
Sexual Content: Moderate


The Lie TreeThe Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge [ARC]
Throughout this book I felt vaguely uncomfortable. The main character’s dad seriously creeped me out and a lot of the other characters were either creepy, unlikable, or both. The main character was fine, but I found it hard to sympathize with her because of how willfully blind she is to all of her father’s faults. She’s so committed to him when he’s obviously not a good guy. I did like her relationship with her little brother, Howard, though. I could not handle her mom and Uncle Miles was just another creepy character. It wasn’t exactly clear to me, at first, how the plant was supposed to work. This made some parts of the book just really confusing to me. I did like seeing the planning and plotting that went into each lie, though–that part of the plot was enjoyable. I also can’t say that I saw the ending coming.

Overall: 3
Language: Mild
Violence: Heavy
Smoking/Drinking: Moderate
Sexual Content: Mild


Loser/QueenLoser/Queen by Jodi Lynn Anderson
Overall, I thought this book had a pretty interesting premise even if it’s not altogether believable. There are so many questions that could be asked…like how does someone know everyone’s secrets? How can someone text you from a number that doesn’t work? Why isn’t the main character creeped out that someone seems to be spying on her all the time? Our main character is somewhat unbelievably naive about things which made the book less enjoyable for me to read. I couldn’t help but wonder how I would react in this situation and I think that I would have refused to do anything that could have been remotely harmful–I’m not really sure why she thought it was a good idea to go through with some of these things. I don’t want to have any spoilers, but if she hadn’t done anything questionable then some stuff wouldn’t have happened later… In the end, the book was okay, kind of sweet, but overall just okay.

Overall: 3
Language: None
Violence: Mild
Smoking/Drinking: Mild
Sexual Content: Mild


9781619634961Poppy by Mary Hooper [ARC]
I felt like this book was a really good portrait of what it would have been like to live through WWI. A lot of the time WWII gets all of the attention, so I did appreciate reading a book set during WWI. I also liked that our main character seems to be intelligent and wants to help the war effort. However, she didn’t have much depth. The book is very much about the things that are going on and less about who the characters are–I guess I was just expecting it to be a little different. I also didn’t really thing there was much of a plot which kind of made the book drag a little bit. So yeah…this one was just another okay book. I thought it ended in a really weird place too–super sudden. I understand that there’s going to be another book, but still… It was just like *BAM* the book’s over.

Overall: 3
Language: None
Violence: Heavy
Smoking/Drinking: Mild
Sexual Content: Mild


Note: ARCS were received free from NetGalley in exchange for honest reviews.

7 thoughts on “Mini-Reviews: In Which I Review Some Average Books

  1. I tried to read The Walled City. I checked it out from the library with the hopes that I’d fall in love, but I just couldn’t get into it, so ended up not reading very much into it. I think Wolf By Wolf just spoiled me. I gave The Lie Tree the same rating. The writing was really good, but there was something about it that didn’t feel accessible, if that makes any sense.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m totally with you on The Lie Tree. It was weird, right? Just like you said, written well, but still something didn’t really connect. I think Wolf by Wolf spoiled me as well. There were definitely some aspects of The Walled City that I LOVED, but unfortunately I didn’t feel like she ever really made me care about the characters.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

