Top Ten Tuesday: My Feelings Have Changed

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week there is a new topic and this week’s topic is: Ten Books I Feel Differently About After Time Has Passed (less love, more love, complicated feelings, indifference, thought it was great in a genre until you became more well read in that genre etc.)

You know that episode of How I Met Your Mother where the group is talking about “spoiling” each other on people? And they play that sound clip of glass shattering? That happens to me with books semi-often. I’ll like a book okay, but then I’ll read a bad review of it and it’ll just be like *glass shatters* “Oh yeah…that’s true…” But then there are other times when I don’t appreciate a book until later. That’s a nicer experience.

From Good to Bad

1) Twilight series. These books were great for what they were and I really loved them, but I am officially over them.

2) Divergent series. I don’t know if it’s because of the movies or what, but I don’t love the Divergent series as much as I used to.

3) The Maze Runner series. This one has soured a bit for me just because of the follow-up books. I loved the first one, but then I felt like the rest of the series got kind of weird and I honestly had no idea what was going on. Even right now, I can’t remember how the series ends.

4) Eragon series. This is another one that was ruined by the follow-up books in the series. I remember really liking the first two, but then it took so long for the next two books to come out that I just got tired of the series and never finished. Also, that movie. Awful.

5) Hush, Hush series. This one was from so long ago…I remember liking the first couple of books, but since then I’ve read stuff about how the relationship portrayed really isn’t very healthy and stuff like that. Yikes.

From Good to Better

6) The Looking Glass Wars series. I really liked this series when I read it back in high school but then I haven’t read them since. But every time I look at them on my shelf or think about them, I just feel like they were really ahead of their time and extremely underrated.

7) Harry Potter series. Another series that I greatly enjoyed at the time, but since then the HP mania has increased (I know hard to imagine). I’ve reread the first four books a few times, but I really need to reread the rest of the series. I feel like HP is just something that will continue to grow in popularity indefinitely.

From Bad to Unsure

8) Throne of Glass series. I consciously stopped reading this series after the second book because I just didn’t care for the series anymore (even though I remember really liking the first book). Then I create this blog and find out that everyone loves this series like…A LOT. So now I’m just unsure about my initial conclusion and whether or not I should try this series again.

9) Red Queen. This book was such an eye roll for me and I didn’t particularly like the main character. Once again, though, everyone on the internet seems to be in love with this series so now I’m thinking about at least trying the second book and seeing how I feel after that.

10) Dorothy Must Die. Lastly, one more situation where the hype has me unsure about my initial gut reaction. I found the main character in this book to be EXTREMELY annoying and I thought that the book jacket summary was total click bait. I came into the book anticipating this cool scavenger hunt-esque storyline, but then that part of the plot literally didn’t appear until the last chapter.

 

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: My Feelings Have Changed

  1. Omg that moment you said when you read a bad review and you can’t stop thinking it’s true is the worst. It’s like, why didn’t I realize this before? It’s heartbreaking hahaha
    And you’re right, the hyped books are hard to read without a preconceived notion that makes you unsure if you’re really linking it or if you hate because everyone loves it… that kind of thing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Twilight, Divergent and Hush, Hush are actually on my list too! Not a big surprise tbh – I think they’re all pretty popular choices this week, especially the first two. I agree with you on Hush, Hush. I liked it when I first read it but now I realised that the relationship feels very unhealthy. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

