Buzz Books 2016: Young Adult Fall/Winter (Part 2)

Buzz Books 2016 Fall/Winter

NetGalley puts out this great compilation every season of some of the hot new Young Adult books that will be coming out. Here are my thoughts on the last 10 books featured (click here for my thoughts on the first 10). Again, covers link to Goodreads.

The Edge of Everything by Jeff Giles (1/2017)

The Edge of EverythingCover: The title itself makes it seem like it could be a nice contemporary romance, but then the cover makes it seem like it’s going to be a post-apocalyptic story. Overall, I think the title looks pretty cool, but I’m not a fan of the look in general. 3/10

Premise: Ugh. I don’t know what to think of this book. Does the premise sound promising? Not especially. It seems like just another “ordinary girl meets extraordinary boy then they fall in love” thing. 3/10

Excerpt: The writing itself is okay, but nothing happened in the excerpt that made me go, “Oh my gosh I NEED to finish reading this.” 4/10

TBR?: No

Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow (9/6)

Girl in PiecesCover: Basically this book seems like it’s going to be dealing with a mental illness or rape or something else really difficult for a high school girl. It does not seem like this is going to be a happy book. The cover is very minimalist which I kind of like, but kind of disturbing too. 6/10

Premise: Yeah…so from the summary it sounds like she’s dealing with depression by cutting. Can’t tell at the point whether there will be a boy involved or any sort of a romance. This seems like it could be a pretty heavy book. Personally, that makes me less interested in it. 4/10

Excerpt: The writing seems pretty excellent, but despite that, I’m still not interested in the subject matter. Perhaps interested isn’t quite the right word, but…hopefully you know what I mean. I can also tell just from this excerpt that there will probably be a lot of language throughout the book. 5/10

TBR?: No

One Half From the East by Nadia Hashimi (9/6)

One Half From the EastCover: Just from the cover, I would probably place this book in Middle Grade territory. Honestly, it makes me think of The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, but I assume it’s not as sad. 4/10

Premise: Since this book is Middle Grade, I think it will ultimately have a happy ending. That being said, the summary makes me think of a movie that I watched (probably in school) that did not end well. I think this book will probably be pretty meaningful, though, and I think the relationship between the two girls will really be something special. 5/10

Excerpt: I think this will be a good book for those in the target age range to read. It seems to show a lot from Afghani culture which I think is a really good thing. In the end, I think the book is just a little too young for me personally. 6/10

TBR?: No

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee (8/30)

The Thousandth FloorCover: I have no idea what to think about this book based on the cover. Maybe something to do with death and heaven? But then again, maybe not. I’m kind of intrigued, but I don’t think the cover alone would make me pick the book up off of a shelf. I do like the font used for the title though, that “H” especially. 5/10

Premise: This seems like it could be a cool futuristic Gossip Girl-esque kind of book. It promises to have a lot of drama, but I’m usually hesitant to get into books that are super futuristic. A lot of the time I just find them unrealistic (even for the future). 7/10

Excerpt: It seems like there’s going to be a very interesting cast of characters. I definitely think I’d want to read more. 8/10

TBR?: Yes

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis (9/20)

The Female of the SpeciesCover: Again, hard to tell what this one’s going to be about, but it looks like it has the potential to be a contemporary romance. Or maybe a female anthem of some kind. I just don’t like the main color, though I do like that the girl stands out. 7/10

Premise: I don’t know about this one.”Popular boy notices loner/outcast girl” isn’t a new idea, but it seems like the characters could be pretty complex. I think it has potential to be good, but it also has the potential to fall flat on its face. 6/10

Excerpt: This book seems pretty dark, but like I said, the characters could be interesting. The writing isn’t anything stellar, but it’s not bad either. 6/10

TBR?: Yes, unless I start to hear that people don’t like it.

Replica by Lauren Oliver (10/4)

ReplicaCover: The cover itself is nice but gives zero indication of what it’s going to be about. A notable thing about this book is that it’s a flip book. Read one half, then flip the book and read the other half of the story from another perspective. Or you could read one chapter and then one chapter. Honestly, I kind of hate that idea. I would rather just have the author give it to me in the order that she wants me to read it. 5/10

Premise: This book just seems like a lot of work to read… 3/10

Excerpt: Right off the bat, Lyra seems extremely helpless and I’m kind of tired of reading about helpless girls. Gemma too doesn’t seem all that dynamic. The reader feels sympathy for her, sure, but I’m not confident that she’ll be able to do anything to change her circumstances. 5/10

TBR?: Probably not

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter (9/20)

Vassa in the NightCover: I really like this cover. It looks magical and is very reminiscent of The Night Circus (maybe a little too reminiscent…). Regardless, I would definitely pick this book up off of the shelf. 9/10

Premise: Ummm…okay… What? This is like an alternate Brooklyn that maybe is also a fairytale retelling? Overall I’m just kind of confused. I feel like this book has a lot of different ideas going on and I’m not sure how they’re going to all come together. 6/10

Excerpt: This book is definitely interesting. It’s a little confusing at first, but I think I understand the world a little better now after reading for a bit. The characters seem interesting and like they’ll have depth to them.

TBR?: Yes

The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti (1/3/17)The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett

Cover: Definitely an interesting cover. It’s pretty simple and I like it. 9/10

Premise: This book seems like it might be dealing with a character that has some kind of mental illness (maybe?). Honestly, I’m a little creeped out by our main character just from the summary. I’m not sure how she’ll come across in the book though. 5/10

Excerpt: The narrator is pretty unique as far as YA narrators go. She seems kind of snarky but also kind of dimwitted at the same time? It’s kind of hard to explain. I’m on the fence about whether or not I’d like to read a whole book with this narrator. I’m also still on the fence about whether or not she’s going to creep me out.

TBR?: Maybe, I’ll have to see what other people say first.

Love and First Sight by Josh Sundquist (1/17/17)

Love and First SightCover: No final cover for this one yet, but I like where it’s going.

Premise: This book sounds interesting! I’ve only read one other YA book featuring a blind main character so I’d definitely be interested in reading another perspective. It also sounds like it’s going to deal with some deeper topics that might be good to read about as well. 8/10

Excerpt: The narrator seems pleasant and not annoying. The other characters seem like they’ll be interesting as well. Overall, this book seems like the events could have really happened. 7/10

TBR?: Yes

Frazzled by Booki Vivat (9/27)

FrazzledCover: The cover makes this book seem really young–probably another one for Middle Grade. It reminds me a little bit of Lizzie McGuire. 4/10

Premise: Definitely Middle Grade. I appreciate that the main character seems to be Asian–but just from her description (dramatic and a natural tendency to freak out) I’m not sure that I would have enjoyed this book even when I was reading Middle Grade books. I do like that the book includes doodles and other drawings though. 3/10

Excerpt: Okay, now that I’ve read the excerpt I think I actually would have liked this book as a Middle Grade reader. I mean, I’m a middle child too and I can also attest to the fact that it’s the worst! That being said, I thought this book started off really well, but I think it’s just a little too young for me. 7/10

TBR?: No

2 thoughts on “Buzz Books 2016: Young Adult Fall/Winter (Part 2)

  1. So many interesting books here, I will have to keep an eye out for them! I actually loved one book I read that did something like Replica, How to be both by Ali Smith, each book is printed with one of two stories first, so you don’t know what you’re going to get. I love that people get different perspectives of the book first and so the whole experience changes for them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

