ANNOTATION: Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

18304322Dumplin by Julie Murphy

Genre: Young Adult

Publication Date and # pages: September 15th, 2015; 375 pages

Plot Summary: Willowdean Dickson (nicknamed Dumplin’ by her mother) is overweight and she knows it. Nevertheless, she’s always been comfortable in her skin. She has her best friend Ellen, her obsession with Dolly Parton, and a secret crush on Private School Bo, her coworker. This Summer is shaping up to be pretty much the same as any other until Will finds something she never expected in her dead aunt’s things: an application for the local beauty pageant. Lucy was big too and Will is initially confused as to why she would have started an application for the pageant. But as summer comes to a close and school resumes, Will starts to understand what might have inspired her aunt to start the application and she resolves to finish what her aunt started.

Characteristics of Young Adult: Teenage characters, self-discovery and the search for identity, evolving friendships, first romantic relationships.

Appeal Terms: Spirited and diverse characters, Southern culture/small town, fast paced

Read-alikes: Revenge of the Girl with the Great Personality by Elizabeth Eulberg; The List by Siobhan Vivian; Future Perfect by Jen Larsen; Pitch Perfect (Movie)

18 thoughts on “ANNOTATION: Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

  1. Wow. What a cool sounding book. You know, while reading the first few lines of the book’s annotation (“… is overweight and she knows it. Nevertheless, she’s always been comfortable in her skin”) I thought of Lena Dunham, writer and actress, who plays Hannah in the TV series, Girls.
    Willowdean is overweight, knows it, and is comfortable in her own skin. You only hear the last part and that is what I like about Lena Dunham. Freedom. Why not? It sounds like a very good book choice and you presented a decent annotation that was nicely written.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My library has this book in their YA section and I have heard it is a great read! I really enjoyed your annotation and it has inspired me to put this on my reading list.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just checked this book out a couple days ago! I’m excited to read it, as I’ve heard so many good things about it. Several of the characteristics and appeal terms you listed caught my attention so I’m sure I’ll enjoy it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I purchased this book for our YA collection. It really caught my attention. Although I haven’t read it yet, it is on my want to read list. What really appealed to me is that Will is “comfortable in her skin”. That is so important for young girls to feel.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This book has been on my TBR list for a while–I’ve heard a lot of good things about it online. I also read your review of the book and that makes me even more curious about how I would react to the book. Whether or not the characters are likeable can make or break a reading experience!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. This one sounds interesting. The struggle of weight, oh how I love it. It might be nice to read someone else’s take on it. I have little all my life and recently got diagnosed with thyroid disorder. It might be interesting to see how this book plays out. Did you like it and is it humorous?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

