BOOK TAG: Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

I was tagged by Deanna @A Novel Glimpse! She always tags me for these at just the right time (i.e. When I don’t have a post already scheduled for the day).

 1. A popular book or series you didn’t like.

I know I’m going to get a lot of flack for this, but I didn’t like the Throne of Glass series. I remember liking the first book quite a bit, but then after reading the second I consciously made the decision to not continue with the series. I think eventually I’ll give it another try, but at this point it’s not a top priority.


2. A popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love.

Okay, I had a hard time with this one because it’s usually the other way around (see question 1–I could have put a lot of different books up there). I wouldn’t necessarily call my choice a “popular” book, but I chose Instructions for a Broken Heart by Kim Culbertson. I gave it four stars and remember liking it quite a bit, but on Goodreads it only has 3.3 stars with some pretty scathing reviews.


3. A love triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn people for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.

I’m going to steal Deanna’s answer for this one: Anna and Etienne St Clair from Anna and the French Kiss. Just…no. He cheated on his girlfriend with Anna. There’s nothing about that situation that is romantic. End of story.


4. A popular genre that you hardly reach for.

LGBT books are super hot right now and I think for good reason. It’s so awesome that authors are trying to bring more diverse characters and issues into the conversation and not just with sexual orientation but with race and ethnicity as well.


5. A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

Sorry for this but I’m choosing Lola from Lola and the Boy Next Door. I’ll be honest, I just didn’t really like any of the books in this series.


6. A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

I’m just going to say A.S. King on this one. I’ve read a few of her books and have thought they were okay…but mostly they’re just kind of weird. This type of magical realism is very strange to me. I just have a hard time figuring out what is actually real and what is just in the character’s head.


7. A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing.

Good girl falls for and reforms bad boy. Inevitably the good girl ends up compromising some values or morals and I don’t like that (see Grease). I’m of the very strong opinion that you should never change yourself just for a boy. I’d much rather read a story about a good girl finally seeing and falling in love with the good boy who’s been there for her all along.


8. A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

Vampire Academy. I don’t know much about this series, but I’m pretty over vampires. Zero interest there.


9. The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

I can’t think of any that I really and truly prefer to the book, but I absolutely LOVE the movie version of Austenland. I love both the movie and the book equally, but differently.


 

I tag anyone who wants to do this!

14 thoughts on “BOOK TAG: Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

  1. Wow! You’re fast! 🙂 I’m happy it always seems to work out!
    I liked Lola better than Anna, but didn’t get her Cricket attraction.
    I don’t mind a good girl falling for a bad boy, but I would like to see more good guys getting the girl.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree with you about number 3. That’s why I only gave 4 stars. It could have been a really good book if Étienne and Anna hadn’t done that! I mean, he could have been single or something… Cheating is just bad…. :\

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting tag, I might give it a go 🙂

    I have Anna and the French Kiss – although I haven’t read it yet – and I’ve often heard that complaint that Etienne cheated on his gf for Anna. I’m still curious to read it though, partially just to understand the hype if anything.

    I did like Vampire Academy – Richelle Mead writes a good fast-paced story with edge/darkness. But if you are over vampires then you won’t enjoy it :/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

