ANNOTATION: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

 

6218281The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

Genre: Mystery

Publication Date and # pages: April 28th 2009, 374 pages

Plot Summary: Flavia de Luce is an unusual girl. At eleven-years-old, Flavia has a deep passion for chemistry (poisons in particular). One morning she stumbles upon a dying man in the cucumber patch and her father is consequently arrested for murder. In order to clear her father’s name, Flavia must discover who the real killer is–all while avoiding her two annoying older sisters. This is the first book in a series.

Characteristics of Mystery: I would describe this book as a Cozy. Amateur detective with an unusual hobby, a puzzle to solve, small-town feel, quirky secondary characters

Appeal Terms: Leisurely plot, quirky characters, small-town setting, light tone

Read-alikes: Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple; The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R King; Hotel Paradise by Martha Grimes

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “ANNOTATION: The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s