The Heir by Kiera Cass

The country isn’t exactly “at peace” and King Maxon and Queen America need some way to distract the population until they can come up with a more permanent solution. The royal family must make sacrifices for their people–so now Eadlyn is the center of attention as she endures her on Selection even though she’d rather be doing anything else.

The-Heir_612x925Was anyone else surprised when this book was announced? I was under the impression that the Selection series was just going to be the three books. I’m not complaining–it was just unexpected. But anyway, I really enjoyed that this book gives us the opportunity to check-in with some of the characters. I liked seeing grown-up May, Aspen, and Marlee (as well as America and Maxon of course). At the same time, it was really hard for me to picture America and Maxon as adults. In my mind, they’re still teenagers so I can’t help but have a little bit of a disconnect there. It was easy, though, for me to picture grown-up Aspen. Not sure why. As far as other characters, I think Eadlyn’s brothers are really fun–especially the youngest. I hope we get to see more of them in the future.

I had a hard time with Eadlyn. She was just so…unlikable. I’m not sure if maybe this is supposed to be intentional? But it’s so obvious that she feels really entitled and that she thinks she’s better than everyone. Also, I’m having a hard time figuring out why exactly she has such a hard time opening up to people? Hopefully this just means that there will be lots of character development in the books to come. I also feel like it’s kind of obvious who she’s going to end up choosing even though there are so many options. If I’m wrong in my prediction I will be very surprised. I like my pick the best out of all of the guys so I  both hope and don’t hope that I’m wrong.

The guys are all kind of one-note at this point. This is expected since there were so many guys introduced in the first place. I’m sure we’ll get to know them better as the series progresses.

Overall, if you liked the first three books in the Selection series, this is basically more of the same. A lot of fluff and not much substance (in my opinion) but a fun and quick read all the same. My overall rating is probably a little generous here.

Overall Rating: 4
Language: None
Violence: Moderate. Some fighting.
Sexual Content: Mild (if that)
Smoking/Drinking: None (maybe some wine drinking, but I can’t remember)

5 thoughts on “The Heir by Kiera Cass

      1. She does have a chip on her shoulder. She is humble like her parents are. I like that though because everyone expects her to be one way and she isn’t. The boys are basically scared of her and its so funny to read.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

