BOOK TAG: Nostalgic Book Review Tag – Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

I was tagged for this by Joey @Thoughts and Afterthoughts (was anyone surprised?)

I’ve really been wanting to reread Inkheart by Cornelia Funke lately. I just remember it being SO GOOD and I don’t remember much about it. Warning: This might contain spoilers if you haven’t read it yet. Then again, I might not even remember the book right so…there’s that.

Part 1: The Summary

First, tell us a little bit about this book, and approximately when you read it. Write a summary (brief, long, anything you like!) of the book you are reviewing.

I probably read Inkheart for the first time in fifth or sixth grade so…a little over ten years ago now. It’s about a girl named Meggie (or Maggie?) and her dad. They both love books, but her dad never reads aloud to her because (unbeknownst to her) whatever he reads will switch places with someone in real life. He’s called Silvertongue by a bad guy named Capricorn who is out to get both of them…so that they can read him a bunch of gold? (Oh, and by the way, Meggie’s mom disappeared when she was a baby). So they go to stay with her aunt because a guy (character) named Dustfinger comes with his marten to warn Meggie’s dad that Capricorn is after him. Capricorn finds them anyway (because Dustfinger BETRAYS THEM) and takes them to his weird settlement of storybook characters where they end up finding Meggie’s mom who got read into the story in exchange for Capricorn (along with their two cats). She got read back out of the story as a servant, but the guy they had reading wasn’t as good as Meggie’s dad so she lost her voice in the transition. Also, Capricorn’s mom is called the Magpie. Yeah, that’s all I remember.


Part 2: My Thoughts

Share your thoughts on your chosen book. Reflect and talk about what you thought of the book back then.

I already mentioned this, but I LOVED IT. The idea of being able to read characters to life absolutely fascinated me. The characters were all fantastic and seemed so real–I think I might have had a tiny crush on Dustfinger back in the day. Capricorn was basically the most evil villain I could have comprehended at that point. I would recommend this trilogy to ANY CHILD. Seriously, anyone. How can you not love these books??? I also remember loving the quotes from other books at the beginning of every chapter. Just a book about other people who love books *sigh*.


Part 3: The Epilogue

Here’s the fun part: now you can look up a summary of the book – find all those names that you couldn’t remember, those plot points that seemed pretty important – and all those things you might have forgotten. Don’t go back and edit the summary from the first part!

Okay, so I forgot that her dad’s name was Mo and her aunt’s name is Elinor, but no big deal, right? I also forgot about the part where they go to meet Fenoglio, the author of Inkheart in the book (so meta, I know). It’s not clear in the summary that I read whether or not Dustfinger betrayed them, but I’m pretty sure he did. Also, I’d forgotten how Capricorn got defeated. It’s a lot darker than I remember it being…


So that was pretty fun to take a walk down memory lane. I’ll admit, I’m pretty proud of how I did. I challenge anyone who is interested to also take part in this tag!

4 thoughts on “BOOK TAG: Nostalgic Book Review Tag – Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

Leave a Reply

