Mini-Reviews: Fits of Tranquility & Afternoon by Robert Lampros

5183rUza6uL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

For the most part, Fits of Tanquility is a short book of poetry about God, Christ, and nature. I’m definitely not an expert on analyzing poetry, but I do enjoy it every once in a while. I honestly couldn’t tell you technically what is good or bad poetry, but I can tell you how it makes me feel. This book made me feel overwhelmingly good. As a religious person myself, I felt like there were some lines that really resonated in me. Even if you’re not religious, a lot of the poems deal with nature and the spiritual experiences that being outside can bring. Overall, I definitely recommend! 4/5


Afternoon is a young adult novella centered around one boy 26056109and some of his decisions involving friends, family, and religion. I liked the tone and the overall writing quite a bit. Since it’s a novella, the reader is thrown into “the middle” of the story. There’s some history that we don’t know or understand right away and this can make things a little confusing. The other thing that I had trouble with was keeping characters straight. Again, I think this was due to the length of the book, there wasn’t really a good time in the story to introduce any of the characters and give the reader information to remember them by so they’re kind of just names on the page. The overall story was great, though. I thought the main character dealt with some really real questions and he felt authentic to me. I think the main critique I have about this novella is that it needed to be a little longer to include some more backstory and character introductions. 3/5

Note: I received this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

