DISCUSSION: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

How do we feel about this movie? The trailer came out today and it got me wondering what the feeling about it is in the bookish community. I read the book years ago (I was still in high school) and liked it alright, but not enough to read any of the other books (ex. Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters).

I’ll admit, I find the book to be a little unnecessary. Why rewrite a classic romance and incorporate zombies? Personally, I’m actually very afraid of zombies and don’t like reading books or watching movies that involve them. Let me go on a tangent here…ZOMBIES COULD BE REAL SOMEDAY. Obviously not the living dead, but I really feel like some virus could come and attack our brains and turn us into walking vegetables that just want to eat other people. Okay, sorry, tangent over. So yeah, zombies creep me out. That being said, I still have a strange fascination with the movie and will probably want to watch it (even though I’m sure I’ll be covering my eyes whenever a zombie comes onscreen).

Take a look at this trailer and let me know what you think:

Is it too much? Is it okay? Is it completely tarnishing the name of Jane Austen?

7 thoughts on “DISCUSSION: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

  1. As someone who really likes Pride and Prejudice, I feel like it’s a story that should be given a break. We have adaptation pumped out about twice a decade. I also don’t understand the fascination with zombie. I agree that it was unnecessary to make this book let alone this movie.

    Like

  2. I think it’s just a fun “what-if” but then again, I’m always a fan of retellings of classics and different adaptations of classics. I think it gives modern audiences a chance to appreciate the original while adding a fun or modern twist to it.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I think it’s fun, but it’s pure camp. The fact is attached to a Jane Austin is small to me. It could be any classic and that’s the point of camp, and the author could do this with any classic. It’s for fun while Austin is for literary analysis. They are completely different worlds to mgr.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

