Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Represent My Childhood

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week there is a new topic and this week’s topic is a freebie, so I decided to list some of the books that I really loved when I was younger.

1) Nate the Great by Mitchell, Marjorie W., and Craig Sharmat – I convinced my brother one morning that I’d gone to a Nate the Great store and there was a new book called “Nate the Great and the Gullible Boy”. He totally bought it. Also, I always wanted pancakes while I was reading these.

2) The Magic Treehouse series by Mary Pope Osbourn – Seriously, best series ever.

3) Harriet the Spy by Louise Fitzhugh – The movie was so disappointing. I started my own notebook for a little bit, but it didn’t last unfortunately.

4) Walk Two Moons and The Wanderer by Sharon Creech – Sharon Creech was my fave author for a LONG time. I’m not sure why I was so attracted to her books, but I loved them.

5) Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo – My parents wouldn’t let us have a dog. I lived vicariously through this book.

6) Hatchet by Gary Paulsen – So much adventure!

7) Inkheart by Cornelia Funke – The first time I can really remember eagerly awaiting the next book in the series.

8) Mrs. Piggle Wiggle series by Betty MacDonald – I secretly wanted to try some of these bad behavior fixes…it would be so fun to eat off of miniature plates!

9) Every Roald Dahl book – My mom read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory with us, but I read The Witches, Esio Trot, James and the Giant Peach, and the Twits on my own.

10) Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes – This book was really traumatic to me because of that one scene where he melts his fingers together, but it still stands out in my memory.

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Represent My Childhood

Leave a Reply

