HELP WANTED: Graphic Novels

This worked so well when I needed help picking audiobooks, so I’m going to give it another try. I’m participating in the Popsugar reading challenge and one of the items is to read a graphic novel. This is definitely outside my area of expertise. I plan to check one out from one of my local libraries so keep that I mind when you’re making suggestions. It needs to be mainstream enough that my library will probably carry it (and preferably have it in stock so I don’t have to wait for it).

What graphic novel or graphic novel series should a newbie like me read?

18 thoughts on “HELP WANTED: Graphic Novels

  1. V for Vendetta by Alan Moore – The movie starring Hugo Weaving and Natalie Portman was based off of the graphic novel and the novel is different enough that it won’t be as if you are just reading the movie from the page. I have also heard excellent things about any of Neil Gaiman’s graphic novels, though I haven’t read them myself. Scott Pilgrim Vs the World by Bryan Lee O’Malley is fun and filled with a lot of geekiness and video game references that make my not so hidden inner nerd giggle, these graphic novels are also not exactly the same as the movie that was released. Hopefully those will get you started =)

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I definitely support V for Vendetta. I’m not all the way through, but it’s very, very good. And like Melanie said, it’s much different from the movie, but if you liked the movie, you will love the graphic novel.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read it yet because I just bought a copy but I’ve heard good things about Anya’s Ghost. Another graphic novel in my wishlist is This One Summer. I really enjoyed reading Saga and I have Rat Queens in my TBR pile.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m not much of a graphic novel reader but I have dabbled around in manga, if that counts. Deathnote is a highly mainstream manga that almost everybody likes. And I personally like Fullmetal Alchemist (but I haven’t finished it oops) which is just as mainstream. I don’t know if your library would carry it though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

