Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Authors

top-ten-tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  Each week there is a new topic and this week’s topic is: Top Ten All Time Favorite Authors.

Let me just add a quick disclaimer–this list is always changing but this would be my top ten list right now.

1) Jane Austen – Because duh. I have yet to read a book as witty and clever as some of Jane Austen’s (I even liked Emma).

2) Sarah Dessen – She’s an insta-read for me. Ever since I read This Lullaby, I’ve been hooked on her books. I feel like I can really relate to her characters and that’s something that I’ve come to enjoy.

3) Jennifer E Smith – Another insta-read, but a newer one. She just writes cute, fun books that have a lot of heart.

4) Cassandra Clare – Talk about world building. The Shadowhunter world that she has created is unbelievable. I honestly hope she keeps all of her books as part of this one world.

5) Gail Carriger – While not as witty or as clever as Jane Austen, Gail Carriger comes close. Her heroines are spunky and smart and don’t take “no” for an answer.

6) Suzanne Collins – The Hunger Games was brilliant and I’m really excited to see what she decides to do next.

7) Frank Beddor – Writer of The Looking Glass Wars. I don’t really hear people talking about him or his series ever, but of the several Alice and Wonderland retellings that I’ve read, his is my favorite. Give it a try (there are even some slight elements of steampunk which I LOVE).

8) Rainbow Rowell – Beautiful writing, real characters. Rainbow writes about people who don’t exist, but legitimately could.

9) Cornelia Funke – Who could forget the Inkheart series? Definitely due for a reread in my opinion. I loved these books.

10) J.K. Rowling – Another duh. Do I even need to explain?

This was a fun list to come up with. Who are your favorite authors? Do we have any matches?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Authors

  1. Jane Austen = always a duh. Same with Rowling and Funke. 🙂
    Have you ever read Funke’s The Thief Lord? It’s very different from her Inkheart trilogy, much darker, but also very original.
    I was surprised by how much I loved the Looking Glass Wars books! They were so engrossing and very well done. If someone had told me I would love a really violent YA adaptation of Alice in Wonderland, I don’t know if I would have believed it. But it happened!

    Like

  2. I have loved Sarah Dessen for years! What Happened to Goodbye was the one that got me hooked. However, I am still yet to read The Moon and More and Saint Anything. Cassandra Clare, J. K. Rowling and Rainbow Rowell are also favourites of mine.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

