To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Lara Jean has a system for getting over boys. She sits down, writes the boy a love letter, addresses the envelope, and then sticks the letter in a hat box. She’s written five in all: one to a boy from summer camp, one to Peter who kissed her even though he liked another girl, one to a boy who’s moved away, one to a boy who comes out in high school, and one to her next-door-neighbor, Josh. Josh also happens to be her older sister’s (ex-)boyfriend–a sister who is conveniently on another continent going to college. These letters were never meant to be read, but one day they’re accidentally sent out. Lara Jean is left to deal with the fall-out of having some of her most private thoughts read by the very boys they inspired.51GdayQh-uL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I really liked Lara Jean’s relationship with her two sisters Margot and Kitty. Their mother died when they were fairly young and so the three girls were left to be raised by their father. Margot is how I would imagine a typical older sister would act in a family situation such as this. She’s taken charge of the family and has always made sure that her younger sisters have what they need. This creates a unique relationship between her and Lara Jean. Margot is part sister, but also part mom which made things interesting at times. I also liked seeing Lara Jean interact with Kitty, her younger sister. Overall the relationships seemed very real.

I thought it was interesting that one of Lara Jean’s love letters would be to her sister’s boyfriend, but I didn’t really like how Josh reacted to it. It seemed to me like he had a chance with both sisters and he made his choice. When he receives his letter he all of the sudden starts to have second thoughts. I didn’t like that he started to go after Lara Jean a little bit and I didn’t like that Lara Jean wanted to make him jealous. What was that going to accomplish? Lara Jean knows that he’s probably going to try to get back together with her sister, but she’s going to subtly go for it anyway. That being said, if she hadn’t hatched her brilliant plan to make Josh jealous, then she never would’ve gotten together with Peter. I thought Peter’s character was interesting because he’s a lot more complex than he seemed on the surface and that’s something that Lara Jean discovers throughout the book. Also, I loved the interactions between Peter and Kitty.

I liked this book quite a bit! I always love when the characters seem real and I felt like Lara Jean’s family could’ve lived next door. I’ll definitely be reading the sequel P.S. I Still Love You which comes out May 26th.

Overall Rating: 4
Violence: None
Sexual Content: Moderate. Some innuendos and typical high school rumors.
Language: Moderate
Smoking/Drinking: Mild

2 thoughts on “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Leave a Reply

